clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Developer breathes new life into unused 13-story tower on Canal Street

One building, two hotels

The developer expects the dual-branded hotel on 1600 Canal Street to open by January of 2018.
All renderings courtesy of NewcrestImage/Campo Architects

By January of 2018, two new hotels will operate in the old University of New Orleans tower located at 1600 Canal Street.

Developer NewcrestImage began construction on its renovated hotel space in late 2016. Before the developer began the conversion process, the tower sat unused after Hurricane Katrina.

Designed by Campo Architects, the 13-story building will hold TownePlace Suites by Marriott, which will have 105 rooms; and SpringHill Suites by Marriott, which will have 78 rooms. Both hotels will share a common check-in space, breakfast area, and indoor bar on the ground floor, the Dallas-based developer said in an official release.

Its most unique aspect will be its L-shape rooftop bar called Vue. Facing Canal and Robertson streets, the rooftop will have a variety of custom decor—and over 15 styles of seating arrangements, including two unique fire-pit spaces.

Under the new Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance, this renovated hotel will have three retention tanks under its ground floor to handle excessive rainfall. Its one of the first new constructions in the city to be built with stormwater management in mind.

Architect Paul Mouton designed the building in the 1960s. Until 1993, the Ocean Drilling & Exploration Company operated on its lower floors and it leased the upper-floor offices of the building.

Later owned by the University of New Orleans, Nola.com reported that the University sold the tower to the Dallas-based developer in 2015.