clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Uptown and Carrollton neighborhoods officially added under the Historic District Landmarks Commission

Most of the neighborhoods fall under partial control

Starting March 1, 2017, The Uptown an Carrollton Neighborhoods will transition from being members of the Neighborhood Conservation District Advisory Committee to becoming members of the New Orleans Historic District Landmarks Commission. The transition will help streamline the process for demolition, according to the Mayor’s Office.

While the properties in both the Uptown and Carrollton neighborhood, two strips of the neighborhood will be under “full control,” noted as the purple and gold sections on the map.

  • Properties on St. Charles Avenue between Jena Street and South Carrollton.
  • And properties on South Carrolton between Leake Avenue and Earhart Boulevard.
Areas added to the HDLC on March 1, 2017.
Office of the Mayor

Historical places and structures under “full control” must consult the Historic District Landmarks Commission for any alteration to the exterior of the property.

All other areas of the two districts are under partial control, which means consultation is only necessary for demolitions.

Other approved Local Historic Districts in 2017 include:

  • Mid-City
  • Parkview

The following neighborhoods and places are currently under the Local Historic District:

  • Algiers Point
  • Bywater
  • Faubourg Marigny
  • Lower Garden District
  • Esplanade Ridge
  • Holy Cross
  • Irish Channel
  • Lafayette Square
  • Picayune Place
  • Warehouse District
  • Treme
  • Vieux Carre
  • Garden District (partial)

The Historic District Landmarks Commission is tasked with preserving the City of New Orleans’ building, site, monuments and other areas of historical significance.